Back

Trinity Church gets new roof
November 7, 2018

Share

HUGHESVILLE - Although the rainy weather has caused some delays, the roof on Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church in Hughesville has been completely replaced, including new underlayment. This project will protect this local gem for a generation or more. Built in 1884, Trinity has been a notable fixture on Main Street for most of the borough's history.

In recent years, the failure of areas of the previously installed roofing had resulted in some areas of minor damage to ceilings inside the sanctuary and its adjoining social hall. The new roof will allow the congregation to repair interior surfaces, and that will enhance its service to the community.

Other preservation work has included the large stained-glass windows on the Main Street and Academy Street sides of the sanctuary, as well as the re-design of the roofline of the education wing that was first constructed in 1965. That portion of the church complex has housed many groups and programs from the community, and currently serves as the home for the local Head Start class and several Girl Scout troops. Boy Scout Troop 26 has its meeting rooms in the basement under Stuempfle Hall (the social hall).

Trinity's congregation is strongly invested in the Hughesville community. They always invite visitors and welcome those who wish to worship for one service or for a lifetime.

Share

Regular Size The Luminary